Stormy Swiss in stormy Malta

Traditionally, the IWT Malta Open is the perfect weekend for an extended racketlon weekend to catch the last sunrays and heat before winter. This year, on the contrary, the temperature and the rain didn’t invite the players to cool down after their matches in the pool of the venue.


Nevertheless, the stormy atypical Maltese weather wasn’t able to have a negative impact on the atmosphere. The small Swiss delegation was on fire: 8 players took 12 medals by storm!


Even a complete set of medals was won by Benjamin Gränicher, who paired up with Dan Busby (GB) in the Men’s Doubles A (gold) and Nicole Eisler in the Mixed Doubles A (silver). In the Men‘s Elite draw he successfully outplayed organiser Duncan Stahl (GB) with a comfortble +23 before tennis! Unfortunately, Morten Jaksland (DEN) was too strong in the semi finals.


Nicole Eisler also won 3 medals. Next to the mixed silver success she won another silver in the Women’s Doubles A together with youngster Dara Ladner. In the Women‘s Elite, Eisler had to chance to face former World Champion and still unbeatable Zuzana Kubanova (CZ). Eisler was happy with a bronze medal, though.


Nicolas Lenggenhager was the clear dominator of both the B Men’s Doubles and the Mixed Doubles classes. He was twice on the top of the podium; once with Natalia Prado (F) and once with his team mate from RC Genève Mounir Benheddi.


Patrick Bürgi took home another (bronze) medal in the same category alongside Roland Pichler (AUT). Bürgi only closely missed the podium ending 4th in the Men’s B draw. 


Graham King as well ended with the unappreciative rank 4 in the Seniors +40.


Julien Meister (according to his name “Champion“) accomplished the good Swiss result with winning 2 bronze medals. (Men’s C and Men’s C Doubles).


Next year, the weather is the only aspect that can be improved. As it will be 3 weeks earlier the chances for another great racketlon experience are high. Check out the new international tour plan!


Nicole Eisler

Share this page


Swiss Racketlon Night Tour 2023

SRNT 2023 Flyer front web

FSR-Rankings courants (1er novembre 2020)

1. Benjamin Gränicher
2. Cédric Junillon
3. Patrick Casanova-Lorenz
4. Christian Schäfer
5. Yannic Andrey
6. Nicolas Lenggenhager
7. Magnus Ekstrand
8. Michael Strässle
9. Nico Hobi
10. Niki Schärrer

1. Nicole Eisler
2. Valeria Pelosini
3. Adeline Kilchenmann

Les rankings actuels vous trouvez ici.